Maximilian Günther secured his first Formula E victory since the 2020 Santiago ePrix in Berlin after a race-long battle with Jean-Eric Vergne.

Vergne led much of the race - having started the E-Prix from pole position - but struggled in the closing laps, allowing Günther to get ahead.

The German looked on course for a comfortable win but he had to fend off a late-charging Robin Frijns with the pair being separated by just 0.1s over the line.

Vergne managed to hold off Techeetah team-mate and championship leader Antonio Felix da Costa for the final podium spot.

Da Costa was unable to match his race-winning performances of the previous two Berlin E-Prixs but it was a crucial result in the race for the championship with the Portuguese driver now within touching distance of a maiden Formula E crown.

Andre Lotterer secured fifth for Porsche ahead of Oliver Rowland.

Jerome d’Ambrosio ran as high as second in the early laps but struggled to maintain this pace, eventually dropping to seventh.

Lucas di Grassi finished eighth, but may have finished higher had it not been for a collision with fellow countryman Felipe Massa - who was given a drive-through penalty for spinning di Grassi into Turn 1.

Mitch Evans and Alexander Sims completed the points-paying positions.

Stoffel Vandoorne was forced to retire after picking up a puncture whilst running in the top five, while James Calado, Sérgio Sette Câmara and Neel Jani also failed to make the flag after an incident at the hairpin resulted in significant damage for all three cars - and was the cause of the mid-race Safety Car period.

Full result of the third Berlin E-Prix can be found here




Loading Comments...